Happy Birthday To Me!

Ok, so a couple of days ago it was my birthday (yay!) and I wanted to blog about my presents…

074 

Don’t worry it leads to more of my usual drivel, if you can stomach my birthday glee long enough to get to the end.  I know it might not seem a very big deal to you but because I’m rubbish and broke due to some financial issues, I don’t often get to buy anything for myself so I’m excited and thus you shall be excited with me, damnit.

Behold!  My treasure trove of birthday goodies:

DSC00081

From my sister I got 3 NYX Jumbo Eye Pencils in different shades of green, a L’oreal Pure Pigment Shadow Stick, a L’oreal Volume Million Lashes Mascara and a Salon style hair dryer!  I believe these were joint presents from my her and my lovely mama.

In the picture you can also see a beautiful Fiorelli handbag, gifted to me by my cousin Annie, alongside the lovely notebook, jewellery and card.  The handbag I must say was an absolute achievement as anyone who knows me, will know I am meticulous when it comes to choosing my bags – the straps have to be just so, the colour has to be just right, the texture/material/number of zips and pockets/size/shape all have to be a certain way, and she must have taken notes the last time we bag-shopped because she got pretty damned close.  The red packet of lucky money was from my brother and sister-in-law, and the mobile phone cover from my wonderful boyfriend. 

IMAG0047

I also got (eventually*) these two games from my sister, which I am enjoying immensely as I have been an avid Sims fan since the original first came out all those years ago – I have yet to play these properly as work is just over the horizon but I have a week off starting Tuesday!

And lastly, the final parcel to come through the post were these beauties – courtesy of the best man on Earth:

IMAG0054

Sennheiser CX 680 Sports edition ear phones.  Apparently the best sports ear phones money can buy – superior sound quality, water and sweat resistant, rugged and durable for extreme sports.  GLEE!!!  Why am I so excited about these?  Not because I’m a sports person – don’t be silly (you would be lucky to see me break into a jog on a normal day – despite how much I obviously need to), no I am excited because I have been using a pair of stock ear phones which have been hurting my ears due to their awful fit and my ears bleed from their appalling sound quality – so, I am over the moon to finally get a pair of decent ear phones again.  As you may have guessed, I am also an avid Sennheiser fan.

luppanda

So many, many, many thanks to everyone for the gifts – it means a lot to me and I love each and everything as much as the next. 

* Right – so on to the explanation of why I said eventuallyIt appears in this area, we have a bit of a problem.  A bit of a drug problem, a bit of a theft problem, a bit of a vandalism problem, a bit of a littering problem, a bit of a gang-violence problem, a bit of…well you get the idea.  It’s all quite a bit…well…problematic.  So much so, that not only is it normal to see gangs of youths brandishing chair legs and kitchen knives, in hot pursuit of some random person (usually bleeding), but the most frequent sound you’ll hear on our road happens to be the sound of squealing police and ambulance sirens.  In the time that it will take me to finish this post, I will undoubtedly hear at least two police cars go by. 

 

   IMAG0053   

Is that a GRATE on your window?!  I hear you ask……Yes.  Yes it is.  But it’s there as much to keep our cats in as it is to keep the err, neighbours out.   

uhh

 

So what does this have to do with my present?  Well, it appears that this crime problem we have extends even to our postman.  I was supposed to receive two identically shaped and sized parcels – both of them games – in the post.  For some mysterious reason, the postman puts one through the letter box, and writes a ‘sorry we missed you card’ for the other.  On the card, he states the reason as ‘your packet was too large for your letter box’.

Well wait a minute – didn’t he just put the other parcel through my too-small letter box?  The other, exactly-the-same-size-and-shape parcel?  So that was stupefying – clearly he was not just a potential thief, but a really, really stupid one.

Around about Christmas time, the same thing happened with another DVD/Game-shaped parcel.  For some unknown reason it just disappeared, and never made it to our hands – was it just a coincidence, or was it just too tempting around the festive season to ignore the plethora of DVD-shaped parcels being sent?  Thankfully the company refunded our money, but there’s nothing quite like having your presents stolen by the postman.  It’s probably one of the sh*ttiest, most exasperating feelings to suspect your own postman is systematically nicking your post.

So anyhow, with parcel card in hand, we went to the post office to try and retrieve said parcel – only to be told that the parcel was nowhere to be found and that we could try again tomorrow.  Bearing in mind that we had already waited 48 hours to make sure that the item would be sorted and back at the office, this sent alarm bells ringing.  It already made no sense that one packet was delivered and yet the other wasn’t – but for it to not be back at the depot just further confirmed our suspicions.  Needless to say we spent the rest of the day cursing our postman for being a dirty, thieving c**t.  I stormed back home ready to mount a full-scale attack via the phone/email/letter and whatever else it took to get the bastard erased from existence, only to find that the packet had mysteriously turned up on our doorstep.  Bizarre?  Damn right.  In the end I couldn’t work out whether he had decided to steal it and then lost his nerve, or if he left his brain at home when he was out delivering the other day.  Either way, I was relieved my gift had arrived intact and had to take a rain-check on project-destroy-the-postie. 

But he better watch out if he’s thinking of stealing anything in the future – because I’m onto him. 

31101407-2-1c324    

 

  1. Anna
    July 16, 2010 at 8:25 am

    This happened to me! I bloody hate my postman. I wasn’t sure if it was him or the company but i ordered from the same site and continuously, the parcels would never arrive. So then i sent the parcels to my boyfriend’s house and everything is delivered. It was so annoying because you have to wait 21 days before you can report it missing.
    He also doesn’t have the courtesy to leave a card to inform me that he’s even tried to deliver a package therefore leading to my things have repeatedly been sent back to the company. ¬_¬

    • July 16, 2010 at 11:06 am

      Omg yeah, our one also likes to just put in the card without even ringing the bell. So we end up having to pick it up from the depot 9 times out of 10 x_x

  2. Philip Neil Lane
    July 19, 2010 at 9:09 am

    Nice place you live in. And I thought Sutton was bad…

    • July 19, 2010 at 8:26 pm

      I know. :T Can’t wait to get on that property ladder.

  3. lushosaurus
    August 9, 2010 at 11:48 pm

    Please keep us posted on operation destroy postie. Any contact with Royal Mail has a sort of soul-destroying effect, doesn’t it. I actually witnessed a fight in my local sorting office.

    • August 12, 2010 at 2:06 pm

      Yes, I did later ask for the complaints phone number for Royal Mail in case anything untoward should happen again, but so far we’ve been doing ok. I guess it may be because we haven’t ordered anything DVD/Game shaped lately!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment